Comcast NBCUniversal Awards $76,000 in Scholarships to 58 Colorado High School Seniors

Comcast NBCUniversal awarded $76,000 in scholarships for the 2017-18 school year to 58 Colorado students as part of its annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program. The program, funded by the Comcast Foundation, recognizes the best and brightest high school seniors for their community service, academic performance and leadership skills.

“Our Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners have demonstrated remarkable leadership and a passion for the communities where they live, setting a powerful example for the next generation of leaders,” said Rich Jennings, Senior Vice President of the Mountain West Region. “We are honored to recognize their achievements and excited to support them as they continue their educational journeys.”

On Wednesday, May 31, Comcast and the Public Education & Business Coalition (PEBC) recognized the Leaders and Achievers scholarship recipients, as well as the teachers selected to complete the Boettcher Teacher Residency Program at a special event held at The Cable Center at the University of Denver. Comcast is a proud partner with PEBC supporting the organization’s work with teachers, schools and district superintendents throughout Colorado, and nationwide, to provide professional learning and cultivating highly effective K-12 educators to elevate student growth and achievement.

This year, 58 students will each receive $1,000 scholarships.Two students, Anmol Singh, a resident of Commerce City and student at York International School in Thornton, and Maria Solis, a resident of Denver and student at North High School in Denver, each will receive Comcast Founders Scholarship awards of $10,000. These two scholarships were instituted in honor of Ralph J. Roberts, Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Comcast Corporation.

The scholarship recipients and their associated high schools can be found below:

$10,000 Scholarship Recipients:

  • Anmol Singh, York International School – Thornton
  • Maria Solis-Palma, North High School – Denver

$1,000 Scholarship Recipients:


  • Cliara Sanchez, Aspen High School


  • Abena Antobre, Hinkley High School
  • Bibi Arman, Gateway High School
  • Laura Blackwood, Vista PEAK Preparatory 9-12
  • Samantha Delgado, Overland High School
  • Kristine Emken, William Smith High School
  • Efrata Shiferaw, Aurora Central High School
  • Eliza Yadav, Smoky Hill High School


  • Julia Gutierrez, Basalt High School


  • Julian Dreiman, Fairview High School
  • Javier Jimenez, New Vista High School


  • Lucy Lawrence, Arapahoe High School
  • Kayla Tracey, Eaglecrest High School

Colorado Springs

  • Olivia Chatman, Pine Creek High School
  • Kellen McDonald, Civa Charter Academy
  • Brittany O’Donnell, Mitchell High School
  • Sydney Pabelico, Air Academy High School

Commerce City

  • Maria Castaneda, Adams City High School
  • Ashlynn Rollison, Lester R. Arnold High School


  • Yared Asmelash, Denver South High School
  • Jerae Bustillos, Career Education Center Middle College of Denver
  • Kelly Carbajal, Sheridan High School
  • Viviana De La Torre, Arrupe Jesuit High School
  • Luis Delgado-Garcia, Manual High School
  • Tariq Hatchett-Young, Martin Luther King Jr. Early College HS
  • Avi Kaye, Denver Jewish Day School
  • Alicia Matute, STRIVE Prep – Excel
  • Ariadne Ramos, Abraham Lincoln High School
  • Margarita Soltero-Gutierrez, East High School


  • Elsa Sanchez Gatica, Jefferson High School


  • Renata Starbird, Kent Denver School

Fort Collins

  • Annie Williamson, Liberty Common High School


  • Raymond Salazar, Summit High School

Glenwood Springs

  • Kelly Tran, Glenwood Springs High School


  • Kianna Antuna, Northridge High School
  • Marleen Plascencia, Greeley West High School

Greenwood Village

  • Fese Elango, Cherry Creek High School

Highlands Ranch

  • Chasmine Malabanan, Highlands Ranch High School


  • Mayank Mishra, Peak To Peak Charter School


  • Skyler DeYoung, Heritage High School
  • Tatianah Summers, Littleton High School


  • Jake Drewes, Longmont High School


  • Alexandra Reuter, Monarch High School


  • Andrew Yee, Thompson Valley High School


  • Hayden Ballard, South High School
  • Anthony Bergman, HOPE Online Learning Academy Co-Op
  • Jordan Garcia, Pueblo School District No. 60 Health Academy
  • Adam Guerrero, Central High School
  • Christian Low, Centennial High School
  • Dominic Renteria, East High School


  • Aaron Hosack, Rifle High School


  • Emma Mantooth, Horizon High School
  • Kathia Morales, Mapleton Early College


  • Sydney Sappenfield, Vail Mountain School


  • Alexander Aleman, Westminster High School


  • Julia Hickman, Windsor High School

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides scholarships to students who strive to achieve their full potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

This year, the program will award more than $2 million in scholarships to more than 2,000 students across the country to help them pursue higher education.


We think you may also like…